Twitter Accidentally Shares Users Location Data with Third-party

Twitter apologized for inconvenience caused to its users where it may have accidentally collected and shared location data of some users accessing its app through Apple devices with an advertising partner.

On the blog post, Twitter said the bug only affects iOS users, where if user used more than one account on Twitter for iOS and opted into using the precise location feature in one account, we may have accidentally collected location data when user were using any other account(s) on that same device for which user had not turned on the precise location feature.

Twitter said they accidentally sent user location data to a third-party company during the "real time bidding" advertising process, noting that the data have since been deleted as part of the third-party company's "normal process."

Currently Twitter fixed the issues, and have informed the people whose accounts were impacted to let them know the bug has been fixed.

They urged all users to check their privacy settings to make sure they were sharing only the information they wanted to with Twitter.
Twitter apologized for inconvenience caused to its users where it may have accidentally collected and shared location data of some users accessing its app through Apple devices with an advertising partner.

On the blog post, Twitter said the bug only affects iOS users, where if user used more than one account on Twitter for iOS and opted into using the precise location feature in one account, we may have accidentally collected location data when user were using any other account(s) on that same device for which user had not turned on the precise location feature.

Twitter said they accidentally sent user location data to a third-party company during the "real time bidding" advertising process, noting that the data have since been deleted as part of the third-party company's "normal process."

Currently Twitter fixed the issues, and have informed the people whose accounts were impacted to let them know the bug has been fixed.

They urged all users to check their privacy settings to make sure they were sharing only the information they wanted to with Twitter.

Related Posts

Post a Comment

Subscribe Our Newsletter